This is the old North Room blog – the new one is at www.north-room.com/blog

Islabot!

Posted in Australia, Friends & family, On Assignment, Portraits, Travel by Mike on April 11, 2009
No joke, the last time I saw emotion on the face of a puppet like this, Jim Henson had just passed away.

I love you, Islabot!

 

I had the esteemed job of keeping Isla amused during our car trips around Sydders.  She couldn't wait to hear me telling her about Nikon's new 50mm f1.4 AFS.

(And I'll protect you.)

(I had the privilege of keeping Isla amused during our car trips around Sydders. She seemed genuinely taken by my news of Nikon’s new 50mm f1.4 AFS.)

A quick hello from a scorching Western Oz!  We’re 1300kms up from Perth (or Fremantle, rather – I think it might be twinned with Hove, actually) and are hoping to spend some time swimming with Whale Sharks tomorrow (Easter Sunday, don’t hate us too much).  It’s about 500 degrees centigrade here in Exmouth and Claire is nearing such an extreme shade of red that I’m now wearing Night Vision goggles so I don’t lose her.

This is just a quick segway for anyone who knows Lou & Ru (who kindly put us up, entertained and looked after us during our brief interlude in Sydney – thanks a million guys, was really nice to meet you properly) – and also to show you what their daughter Isla now looks like.  This psuedo-photoshoot now holds the record for shortest amount of advance warning (~6 minutes) as well as shortest window to do it (~12 minutes) – despite which we actually managed two wardrobe changes, and that was just for Ru! ;O)  Hope you like them L&R, see you when you get back across the pond.

M&C x

 

2009-03-11_6632-edit

 

2009-03-11_6626-edit

 

2009-03-11_6639-edit

 

Safe.

Safe.

 

2009-03-11_6600-edit

 

2009-03-11_6613

 

2009-03-11_6567-edit

 

After a killer press-up sess, Isla hit me with back-to-back sets of ab-crunches and squats.

After a killer press-up set, Isla hit me with back-to-back ab-crunches and squats. ("Try boring me again with camera-talk, mate!")

 

2009-03-11_6583-edit

 

Claire outside the SOH.  About 4 seconds later the heavens opened.

Claire outside the SOH.

 

I honestly couldn't get the hang of Sydney's helter skelters.

Sydney's helter skelter is absolutely pants. Dead slow and REALLY painful.

 

Strawberries & cream!

Strawberries & cream?

 

Last recorded attack in Bondi: 3 weeks ago.

Was gutted I'd left my speedos on the, ermm, bus.

More to come…

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

